Caught Driving while intoxicated? Here’s how to deal with it.
If you have recently been caught driving while intoxicated in Missouri, you will need a friendly and experienced DWI lawyer by your side. Many people think they do not need to worry about a DWI charge and also don not consider getting a lawyer until it gets too late. Driving while you are intoxicated can be a serious charge, so you need to do everything you can to fight for it. Written below are a few things that you need to keep in mind about the DWI charge.
- First of all, when you see a police van pull over in front of you, if they notice weird behavior, do not panic and rush. Not only you’ll get a drunk driving ticket, but you will also be ticketed for over speeding. Stay calm and get out of your car with hands above your head. Anything you say will further jeopardize the situation since the officer will be making the first report of the incident.
- Once you are charged, you need to know that Missouri has one of the harshest DWI charges in the country. If you are first time offender, you could even face jail time provided your case is not defended properly. You will have 15 days to file for an administrative hearing, and if you miss this grace period, your license will be suspended for 90 days. You may get restricted driving privileges instated if you have the right defense. There may be an impact on your life by losing your license, along with having a criminal record and jail time. If you are convicted, you won’t be able to earn your living, and going to jail could have a serious impact on your family. So it is important to get a DWI attorney who is able to prove you innocent and fight for your freedom.
- Understanding the first and second offense: A first DWI offense is a class B misconduct, which means that you may get up to 8 points on your license, 90-day license suspension, up to 6 months jail period, and a fine of up to $500.
If it is your second DWI, then you need to find an experienced lawyer to defend you as soon as possible! It comes with a 12-month driving ban, a year in jail, and a fine of around $2,000.
Drunk driving is a serious offense and can have a major threat to your life. Not only this, it could be a threat to other fellow drivers.
However, if you are ever caught driving while intoxicated, act quickly and choose a DWI lawyer to protect your driving privileges.
If you have turned down to take a breathalyzer test, you may face an instant 12-month driving ban. These can be combated as soon as possible by filling for restricted driving privileges. Have any questions? Feel free to contact us.