img
  • 0
  • comment 0
  • 0 views

Car Insurance Requirements in Missouri

Driving without insurance in Missouri can land you in very big trouble. In this blog, we shall have an insight into the different penalties for driving without insurance. Apart from that, we shall also talk about the requirements of car insurance in the state. 

Take professional help if you have been charged with a hefty traffic fine and reduce the penalty. 

What are the Penalties of Driving Without Insurance in Missouri?

According to the MOR, any driver who is convicted of failing to show the proof of insurance will be subjected to the following actions:

  1. A conviction will be entered, and four points will be imposed against the driver’s record.
  2. An order of supervision will be entered against the driver in order to ensure that the liability is being maintained.
  3. The court may even suspend the driver’s privilege for failing to show proof of insurance.

The offender could be ordered to pay a fee according to the below-mentioned schedule:

  • First Suspension: 0 days; $20 reinstatement fee
  • Second Suspension: 90 days; $200 reinstatement fee
  • Third Suspension: 1 year; $400 reinstatement fee

However, these penalties may seem nothing if you compare to the hit you could take if you are involved in road rash, and you do not have car insurance.

Requirements of Car Insurance in Missouri

The state requires the drivers and vehicle owners to have two types of car insurance coverage: liability coverage and uninsured motorist coverage. 

Liability Car Insurance Requirements

  • $25,000 for death or injury of one person in an accident caused by the driver/owner of an insured vehicle
  • $50,000 for a total bodily injury or death liability in an accident caused by the driver/owner of an insured vehicle
  • $10,000 for property damage caused by a driver/owner of an insured vehicle

The liability coverage pays the property bills, medical bills, and other major costs of a driver, pedestrian, and passengers who are injured or have damaged their vehicle in an accident up to the coverage limits. 

Uninsured Coverage

An uninsured motorist can protect you and the passengers if the driver at fault has no insurance. It also protects if you are a victim of a hit and run case. The state requires UM coverage of $25,000 in bodily injury per person and $50,000 in bodily injury per accident. 

Missouri: A Fault Car Accident State

The state of Missouri follows a “fault” system when it comes to financial responsibility for losses incurring from an accident: lost income, injury, and vehicle damage. It means that a person who is at fault for causing an accident is also responsible for a resulting harm. 

A person who suffers any kind of damage or injury due to an accident can proceed in the following ways: 

  • By filing a claim with his/her insurance company
  • By filing a third-party claim with the driver’s insurance carrier directly 
  • By filing a personal injury lawsuit in the civil court against the driver at fault 

Facing penalties in Missouri due to negligence or by not abiding the rules can be avoided. Being vigilant while you drive can help you avoid various mishaps and save your life as well as others’. Apart from that, you can prevent paying a traffic fine by taking all the required measures while you are behind the wheel by being a responsible driver.  

About Author

Car Insurance Requirements in Missouri

Administrator

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts

  • 0
  • comment 0
  • 0 views

Got a ticket? Well, you must hire a traffic ticket lawyer, and here’s Why

There are a lot of traffic violations apart from overspeeding and running a red light. Some of the rules set by the government are so complex that you cannot even understand what is it that you had done wrong, let alone argue about them with the judge. That is why there are experts who can […] 0

Jun 24, 2020

  • 0
  • comment 0
  • 0 views

A traffic lawyer will cost me more than the ticket. Is it true?

Well, to answer your question. It is not true. If you are thinking that you will be free after paying the fine associated with a traffic ticket, then you are also wrong.  A traffic lawyer is someone who will surely take his/her fee, but the cost of hiring a lawyer is much less than the […] 0