3 Things to Know about Traffic Violations
Traffic tickets and citations can come with serious penalties. It may be difficult to determine what the consequences will be, particularly if this isn’t your first moving violation. Here are the top things to know about citations:
Insurance rates increase
Although you are probably aware that accidents can cause your insurance rates to rise, tickets can also cause a change in your rates. You may not be expecting it, but if you have had a speeding ticket or other traffic violation, your insurance premiums may increase when you get your renewal. Your insurance company may designate you as a high-risk driver.
According to data from Nerdwallet, Missouri drivers who were at fault in a crash pay $328 a year more in insurance rates on average. For a first0time speeding ticket, your insurance may increase by hundred of dollars per year, and the rise will be more substantial for more severe speeding violations or repeat offenders. These rate hikes do not disappear immediately. Many insurers will look three to five years back into your driving record to determine rates.
Points on your license
In addition to tickets and fines, speeding citations and other violations may lead to points on your license. Accumulating too many points may result in the suspension of your license. In Missouri, the DMV assigns the following points to specific violations:
- 2 points for careless or imprudent driving
- 3 points for excessive speeding
- 4 points for driving without a permit or while un-licensed
- 8 points for driving under the influence
- 12 points for driving with a suspended or revoked license
Your license will be suspended after eight or more points within an 18 month period and revoked for a full year after 12 points within 12 months. Although points are gradually reduced over time under a specific schedule, some driving violations will stay on your record permanently. Many moving violations, including speeding, stay on your record for at least three years.
Possibility of losing your license or getting it suspended
Points on your license add up over time, and they will only be reduced if you maintain a clean driving record over time. Because your license can be suspended in Missouri after eight points within an 18 month period, your first suspension will be 30 days, with each subsequent suspension getting progressively longer. In addition, license revocation lasts for one year. Although losing a license may be crippling for commercial drivers, it can have detrimental effects on anyone.
One of the best ways to avoid the consequences of moving violations is to work with a traffic attorney.
Have some questions talk to us now
or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.